Canadian Opera Company and Queen of Puddings rewarded with long list of Dora nominations

The Canadian Opera Company’s in-house production of A Florentine Tragedy has earned Dora design nominations for Wilson Chin and Terese Wadden (Michael Cooper photo).

The Canadian Opera Company and Queen of Puddings Music Theatre have done nicely in the Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts’ list of nominees for the 33rd annual Dora Mavor Moore Awards.

In the General Theatre Production division:

Canadian Opera Company Orchestra music director Johannes Debus garnered a nomination for musical direction in the company’s new production of Verdi’s Rigoletto. Visiting conductor Pablo Heras-Casado has been singled out for his work in Iphigénie en Tauride, and Sir Andrew Davis for his work in A Florentine Tragedy/Gianni Schicchi.

Queen of Puddings co-artistic directors Dáirine Ní Mheadhra and John Hess have also been nominated for outstanding musical direction, in their premiere of Ana Sokolovic’s new opera Svadba – Wadding.

Michael Levine has landed set and costume design nominations for the COC’s Rigoletto. For Florentine tragedy/Gianni Schichi, set designer Wilson Chin picked up a nomination, as did costumer designer Terese Wadden.

The prolific and inventive Kimberly Putrell picked up three nominations, including two for her work with Queen of Puddings  — for Svadba – Wedding and Beckett: Feck It!

In the Opera Division, Queen of Puddings picked up an outstanding performance nomination for the ensemble in Svadba – Wedding. That list is rounded out by four of this year’s outstanding COC soloists: Jane Archibald (Semele), Quinn Kelsey (Rigoletto), Alan Held (Florentine tragedy/Gianni Schicchi) and Susan Graham (Iphigénie en Tauride).

COC shows up for outstanding opera production honours are Rigoletto, Iphigénie and the double bill, which was a full in-house effort.

Queen of Puddings earned a production nomination for Svadba – Wedding, while Opera Atelier picked up the fifth slot with its revival of Lully’s Armide.

The 33rd Annual Dora Mavor Moore Awards will take place on Monday, June 25 at 8pm at the St. Lawrence Centre for the Arts in the Bluma Appel Theatre.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s